The “missing” 1000K update

Aeroe - a piece of Danish paradise

Aeroe – a piece of Danish paradise

If it has not been readily apparent from my previous post, travel is about the one constant in my life, travel and exercise that is. Where the constant form of exercise has 3 main components , heavy weight gym sessions, barefoot style running and climbing, add snowboarding in winter and the picture is complete.

The running though is where I empty my mind, it is something I mostly do alone, it is the easiest way for me to reach a meditative state of mind.

Copenhagen Spring

Copenhagen Spring

The now +2 year transition into barefoot running (or minimally shod when below freezing or trails are too rough) has not been entirely without challenges and as you will figure out reading back through my updates, I have probably been flirting a little with the TMTS syndrome on more than one occasion, but no transition is ever perfect and mine at least have been injury free, or almost, there has been the occasional blister or sore and bruised feet from hitting a stone.

One thing is for sure, a running coach is mandatory for a safe transition from big foam floats to bare feet and I am not talking a coach telling you how much to run or how often, but one able to work with the technical aspects of your running style. I meet mine at least twice a year and while my form is getting there, there is just no way to get there on your own. Well there is, but a coach will help you ease through the transition much quicker and avoid injuries getting there.

very easy dirt trail

very easy dirt trail

There is more to it though and by now the first carefully run kilometres along the harbour in Copenhagen seems a distant memory.

In the past i would hate chip seal and rough pavement, where as now I cherish the varity in surface structure one can run, I now run almost any pavement or chip seal and I am slowly taken my barefoot running to the trails.

Our local mountains are still difficult and while I certainly can run parts of the routes, I still rely on shoes when in the mountains, but single track dirt roads has become manageable as well. Now how many different surfaces one can run should never get a competition. I hear many new runners dreaming of negotiating tough gravel roads, but my question is why. Staying within your the comfort zone of your feet, is the key to an uninjured transition.

But do enjoy and experiment with where you run, it is definitely part of the barefoot experience πŸ™‚

My feet has changed a lot, they are thicker and stronger than ever. I do not remember having ever had an arc under my foot, over the last two years and the last year in particular arches have developed under my feet.

My feet are also wider than before and finding shoes is an ongoing nightmare, Vibram and Vivobarefoot has been saving me for my daily needs and I have now come to a point where wearing shoes hurt and is unpleasant, I have a hard time imagining ever getting back into a pair of Nike or the like again πŸ™‚

Barefoot in Beijing

Barefoot in Beijing

My frequent travels has mean exposure to a variety of running conditions and barefoot running in more than 14 countries from arctic Greenland to Singapore. Barefoot running has been a source of bewilderment, inspiration, amusement, hate and conversation no matter where I have gone. I have connected and talked to people I woud probably otherwise never speak to. I have been hated by a few too, mostly for barefoot and faster than them πŸ™‚

Favourite on the journey of barefoot running has probably been china though, there was just something special about the culture and how they reacted to my running that seemed amazing.

There was a unique feel to run barefoot along the forbidden city and through the streets of Shanghai and I am looking forward to going back later in the year.

Where my barefoot journey will take me from here is hard to know, hopefully into the mountains and to more destinations around out wonderful world and when time permits I am indeed looking very much forward to sharing thoughts on things related to barefoot running, my wonderful Greenlandic home and the world πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

