Sisimiut, Greenland and first snow (519K to go):

That I travel a lot is no surprise to anyone and that Greenland always will hold a very special place in my heart is not really a surprise either.

A chance to return to Sisimiut for a few days seemed like a dream come true, as Sisimiut have some of the most amazing running terrain Greenland has to offer, steep mountains and smooth rolling hills in a good mix, some single trails, but in general plenty of off trail terrain.

Arrival was quite a surprise though. Now summer in Greenland this year has been cold and Sisimiut seemed surprisingly chilly on the monday afternoon of my arrival. Low hanging rain clouds and evidence of rain having fallen just minutes before we touched down completed the picture.

Wet mountains

Wet mountains

The conditions for my first morning run were as on the day of our arrival; wet, damp and cloudy, upside was that the cloud cover was significantly higher, revealing the gorgeous mountains surrounding Sisimiut.

Seeyas on the trail

Seeyas on the trail

First run:

I started out barefoot on the damp street, but half a kilometre into the run I slipped into the seeyas as I hit wet and slippery trails.

From here I enjoyed a gorgeous 5 kilometre of trail and terrain running.

Wet, slippery and quite steep at times made for quite a few hazardous down runs, definitely the spyridons would have been a way better shoe for the run, but the seeyas took were not bad, I had a fwe slides that became a little more interesting than necessary and I needed to tip toe a somewhat more on the rockier sections, but that aside I just had fun.

There is no telling how amazing it is to run the greenlandic Mountains feeling your quads and calves burn as they are pushed  on the steep sections, it is just pure life.

I soon came back to the roads and slipped off my seeyas for the last half a K to my hotel, temperature must have dropped a little because, the wet roads felt almost icy under my feet.

Snowy peaks

Snowy peaks

Second run:

Waking up the next morning was nothing short of amazing, clouds were high, but more importantly we had a prime time view to the now snowcapped mountains around us.

Sisimiut Outdoor Gym

Sisimiut Outdoor Gym

First snow had arrived and in August even, which even by Greenlandic standards is a little early and what before was green had over night changed to a shade of brown. a totally amazing transformation of the landscape and I new right then that what was an optional run had grown mandatory 🙂

I ran a very different route than the day before, but had a few similar touch points, much of my thinking on the run was focused on how well suited the running style adopted by most barefoot runners seems to be to trail running. the smooth high cadence run with a focus on running under your centre of gravity makes moving over uneven terrain a breeze.

As I came out of the mountains and decided to add a small paved loop, I came across a relatively new outdoor gym. A perfect opportunity to sneak in 50 pull ups and 50 dips on the way home.

Sisimiut turned out to include two amazing runs for me, one can be nothing but thankful 🙂 I really hope to be able to come back and run here next summer.

Next up on my schedule is Utrecht in the Netherlands – I wonder how barefoot friendly it will be.

Leave a Reply

