A 6K sunday barefooter (787K to go):

W011Well today was Sunday and not unlike other Sundays, it means that my girlfriend and I will head out on our joint running session.

Today we did as the image indicate move our running out of Copenhagen and to the scenic “Dyrehaven” (Animal Garden), a large nature reserve North of Copenhagen.

Weather was absolutely fantastic and warm. THe running conditions would be more difficult than ever for my completely bare feet.

Plenty of gravel roads and mixed paths of forest floor with twigs and stones, gravel patches and the occasional smoothly paved sections. Definitely a step up from my running so far and what a challenge.

W015

The first half a kilometre was real easy, smooth laved path/road all the way, but then we hit gravel and I had to question whether I wanted to carry on or reach for my five fingers, because it was a really painful experience. Luckily the gravel soon smoothed a bit and my feet gradually softened up enough to eat the pebbles and gravel much better and the pain gave way for a very sensory rich run. But also a run where I was fully aware that I might be pushing my feet way too hard, but I really died not feel ready to confine my feet with a pair of seeyas, I enjoyed the sensory feedback too much.

Just before the 4K mark we decided to make a brief sun stop as we reached a suitable stone:)

W013

it left me time to bruch off my sore feet and to check up on the skinn under my feet, because I was really feeling the, to me, challenging conditions I was running.

As evident my feet were taking a pondering, upside was that hot spots and blisters were not showing at all.

That said I think my foot in the picture on the right kind of says everything there is to say.

I was surprised though, that it did not hurt more in general and especially as I sat down, but it seemed that speed and technique was a pretty good match.

4,5K into the route we came across another surprise.

as we followed a narrow trail next to a larger paved road, we came across a very calm and hungry deer.

W016

It was grassing just next to us and it seemed very, very calm about us running by, not even me sneaking out the camera seemed to disturb it. Which gave us the chance to capture the moment so to speak.

I am not sure if it is common to see deer this close to people in Dyrehaven. WHile I have a feeling it is, then it is the first time in a while I have seen them this used to or careless about humans.

 

As the run was completed we both agreed that Dyrehaven is going to be high on our list of new running locations, I just need to grow stronger or more resistant feet, along side a cleaner and lighter running style 🙂

W014

Leave a Reply

