A smooth but windy 7K (793K to go):

Weather today has been not a real mess, but almost Greenlandic in Copenhagen.

Strong wind and a mix of sun, clouds and even a rain shower I believe. Perhaps these almost Greenlandic conditions were why I just had to go running today. my feets needed to be strapped in my seeyas though, the skin under my feet needed a bit of a rest.  As it has become the norm I set out without a fixed route or target in mind, around 5K was the expectation as I had a dinner appointment.

I am generally only following my cadence and then listening to my feet and body while running, thus the pace is not really something I consciously run for these days.

However at 1K I could see that I was doing really well, 2 and 3K said the same. I was running in strong headwind and I saw other runners struggling wiht it, but my running style felt fluid and excellent. micro adjustments to core activation and heel pull here and there, but otherwise it just felt like a nice smooth run.

The way home meant tail wind and naturally it went from smooth and fluid to almost flying home, I even did a detour adding an extra kilometre or so to the route. it was fun in its own way to run this fast on what can best be described as an interactive and constantly changing obstacle course , of shoppers, bikes, tourists, cars and other things. It definitely had me on my toes (if not literally, then figuratively).

As I reached my doorstep again and hit the stop, it said 7K and 30 minutes flat, which means that I am getting back into shape again all of the sudden. It is as if there has been a shift somewhere recently, I have not notised the exact moment, but on the last 3-4 runs something has changed in a good way.

Am I finally getting to the point where I begin to feel barefoot style running not as something new, but as the way it feels natural for me to run?

 

Leave a Reply

