A 13K barefoot and Seeya combi (800K to go):

I am now officially past the first 200K of full time barefoot running or barefoot style running that is.

While I still have a long way to go, then it means that the journey I unknowingly started in September 2011, slowly has come true. I still have a tremendous amount of work to do, especially on my true barefoot running style and being in Copenhagen where the temperatures are better makes that a lot easier.

I embarked on todays run without a fixed distance in mind and of course barefooted, why would you really do anything else, when it is like 15C and the sun is shining.

What is a standard part of my true barefoot running kit is a small drawstring running sack with my seeyas, tweezer, a few sterile alcohol wipes, a needle and a bit of kinesio tape. it is just that tiny bit of gear neaded in case of either a blister or a piece of glass/stone whatever should find its way into my feet.

The shoes are important still as my feet are far from ready to log long runs kompletely barefoot, the skin under my feet is simply not strong enough.

However as I sat out today in my normal long distance pace, my feet felt good. It is remarkable how quickly the skin adapts and the sensory feedback from running a wide variety of surfaces is simply amazing.

Cobblestones are still among my favourites, as is the huge wooden porch in front of the Royal Danish Theatre.But in reality I guess I am just slowly getting addicted to feeling the surface I run. I am rambling though.

Anyway 5K from home I decided to call it quits for the totally barefoot and sneak back into my seeyas, my skin needed a break and I had a friction blister forming on my right foot. Getting back into the seeyas, while still nice was kind of a dull experience and made me aware how much even a very minimal shoe lake the seeya mute the ground feel.

My way home took me on the long stretch along the lakes and here I just happened to arrive just at the same time as a very competent marathoner I have seen before and I chased him for 3 K along the lake and clocked consistent averages in the 3:50 range while doing so.. yay πŸ™‚ so much fun πŸ™‚

I also passed 3 other minimalist runners around the lake. Or I noticed 3 that really stod out with massive ballarina running symptoms. I have not witnessed how dangerous barefoot running style can look before. They were murdering their Achilles tendons and feet. It made me realise how much of a need there is to kill the term “forefoot running”. I’d like to think that “barefoot running style” or “minimalist running” is a better definition of what we do.

Anyway, the GPS rounded 13K practically at my doorstep and that made me accidentally complete the first 200 full time barefoot style kilometres.

Now I just need to find my way back to the point where a 40K week is easy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

