5 + 6 = 11K of barefoot fun (813K to go)

W009Saturday – the 5K speed test:

After a little too successful a dinner out Friday (and drink after 🙂 ) I was not really in the mood for running on Saturday, but these days usually turn out the best.

Being back in Copenhagen, meant flat and no hills even, making runs even more dull. But at least Copenhagen, has traffic, people, bikes, cars and a whole host of other stuff to spice up your run.

As it was getting dark when I got out, I strapped into my seeyas, not being able to see the ground clearly makes barefoot running dangerous, even more so, when you know you are going to pass places where a bottle may accidentally  have been dropped either Friday or Saturday night.

Now being on flat grounds I decided to give my feet a first go at how they would handle a more back to normal pace. A 4:30 minute average, which would be my old ½ marathon race pace, seemed a decent test for my feet on a 5K, meaning not really sprint, but a good (for me at least) fast pace.

It turned out to be an excellent plan, I ran the full five K in 22 minutes flat and with plenty of energy left, best part was that my feet and running style were perfectly OK with both pace and distance. In fact I felt almost good enough to be back running my sub 20 minute 5K again and that is definitely way better news than anticipated 🙂

Sunday – a 6K barefooter:

W007W006

Sunday it was time for a run with my girlfriend, she has just started out running recently and of course in a pair of shoes that is a good compromise between minimalism and some cushioning for her feet. I may would have wanted her to go all minimal, but her being a woman, mean that a suitable compromise had to be reached and the NB Minimus 10 was the best compromise available.

Normally I have not included our runs in my mileage counts, but as we have gotten to the point where pace and distance is right. I allow them in, as I am running them either barefoot or barefoot style 🙂

The day was perfect for a really nice barefoot run, some spring sun only moderate wind and good company, not much to complain about really.

We ran our usual route along the harbour past the viewpoint to the opera by “Amalie Haven” adn onwards to our turnaround point at “Skuespilhuset” wooden porch.

This route has such an amazing variety of surfaces, from smooth cobblestone, over flagstones of all kinds and paved roads and paths ranging from very smooth to very rough and almost painful to run.

At our turnaround point we did a quick couple of photos before heading back the same route at a faster pace.

I received the usual amount of weird looks and funny comments, but the other runners today generally seemed to really be in a spring mood and at least two other runners gave a wave and a friendly smile when passing, which is so much nicer than the super serious and sometimes downright unfriendly looks runners in Copenhagen all to often greet each other with.

I had my seeyas in my drawstring running sack just in case, I  am quite amazed how great this very simple design rides on my back as long as the load is light, that said it is not a replacement for a decent technical running pack when carrying heavier loads.

It turned out a very problem free run, running style was decent without being perfect, but pave was somewhat on the moderate side, and I have discovered that running above a certain speed makes it easier to maintain good running style, so hardly a surprise.

Just being able to run truly barefoot again was absolutely amazing, thus this run goes into the book as one of the really good ones.

Leave a Reply

