14K and still feeling great (834K to go):

Yesterday was not really that perfect a day when it started out.

Had to get up early on the sunday and go to work. the culmination of 2 years of hard work and my biggest professional project  has been rolling out this weekend.

Thus the opportunity to sneak into my seeyas and head out for a run with a friend seemed perfectly timed and I really needed to the mental boost and peace of mind running brings me.

The first kilometre was a pleasant warm up to meet my friend Tina. much to my surprise she was holding a pair of brand new VFF in her hand, but luckily wearing her normal runners.

from here followed 11 wonderful kilometres of hills, paved roads, slushy snow patches, ice, some rock, water puddles and some more paved roads. A perfect relaxed and very pleasant mix of surfaces. Some may claim that running this kind of mixed terrain in seeyas is a little stupid, but I really like them for all round running, mostly because they are such a perfect, soft and quickdrying  almost invisible shoe.

TIna and I had a good chat about life in general and what is going on in our lives while running and I was really impressed by her uphill stamina too. It just felt good not to run alone for a change.

back at her place she quickly slipped into her sprints and we did 1K of running and technical training, it was fun to be around for her first minimalist run and hear her encountering the multiple surfaces we managed to pack in. She got to taste both gravel, paved roads, soft sea weed, pebbled trails and very wet feet. I felt quite privileged to be around for this first experience and glad that it was a good one. arriving back at her place I said a quick goodbye before sprinting the last kilometre home at full speed.

Getting to terms with the facts from the run afterwards was very rewarding. I had managed to keep my running style sharp, even with another runner around, cadence was a bit of a mixed bag and it took a continuous focus on it to stay in my normal 195-200 SPM cadence. when not paying attention it dropped to 180-185 SPM which is still in the OK range for me, albeit a little slow if I were to run totally barefoot.

Pace was relaxed and comfortable, but also necessary as we had to catch up along the way. running style was not perfect, but it is getting more solid for every run. I was particularly pleased to see that I had the ability to keep a decent running style and that talking did not take mental energy away from it.

So all in all a very, very good run and my first 14K in these barefoot thingys, best part is that even though I do have the slightest hint of sore calf muscles, then I came out clean and ready for more 🙂

/T

Leave a Reply

