10 amazing kilometres, after a week in heavy boots (848K to go):

Temp_WWH

There is a lot to be said about todays 10K and the events leading up to it.

Easter was spend wearing heavy duty snowboard boots way out in the Greenlandic Mountains, Heliboarding it is called.

Essentially it involves being carried by helicopter to a peak and then snowboarding down steep offpiste terrain 🙂

It has been amazing to be back out there and to be able to enjoy the challenging snowboarding. Snowboarding is another passion of mine and being off piste and carried to peaks and runs otherwise inaccessible is an experience I will carry with me forever. I mean, how often do you find yourself strapping into your board (or skies) with mountains, glaciers and inland ice in one direction and the deep fiords and ocean in the other.

I have not been running while there though. the decision to conserve every bit of energy to recover between runs and during the evenings came easy. My feet and legs were in no shape to do anything but rest after the long days on the board, but to kick off the boots and walk around barefooted in the evening was amazing, just as it became clear to me how much stronger my feet and lower legs have become from the barefoot running style.

Arriving back in Nuuk today was both a bit of a downer, but also a welcome chance to start recovering and slowly comprehend the sensory overload from the trip. first thing I did though was to sneak my bare feet into my seeyas and  go for a nice run in the late afternoon sun.

And I felt fast right from the get go. I felt the urge to just run fast and see what my barefoot skills could handle, the seeyas are amazing for that, just enough sole to make pebbles and others smallish stuff a non issue.

At between 7 and 8K I paid the price though and had to slow down to keep my technique nice and clean, but overall I was easily back under my 5 minute average and with a natural cadence of 198 SPM.

So overall a very very good run and a reminder of how amazing the feel of running nearly barefoot is 🙂

Leave a Reply

