Off trail 10K and first peak (858K to go):

W008

 

Spring has caught Nuuk and most of the Greenlandic west coast a few month early and the snowboarder in me hates it, then the barefoot runner in me loves it 🙂

Today was another perfect day from the morning, a tough core and shoulder workout, followed by work and the strapping into my VFF Spyridons for the first real off trail test on rock in stead of snow.

The course for the roun would be a mix of roughly 5K mountain, with plenty of bare rock, pebbled sections, sections with jagged outcroppings of rock and plenty of snow patches in between and be rather steep to boot.

My run started uphill from the first step and the next 2,5 steep uphill kilometres threatened to kill me and my feet from quite early on. On road and the terrain I have been running so far, my feet has been taking the transition to a totally soft shoe with no padding very well. but running steep rock inclines in a soft five finger shoe is putting quite a lot of strain on both mid foot muscles, calves and the achilles tendon. this part of the run definitely had several sections of technical running that my barefoot running skills are not quite up for yet. But that said I loved every step of it 🙂

Did the obligatory stop at the peak, calming myself, taking in the view and letting my feet dry. Felt amazing to sit barefooted up there and enjoy the view.

W011

From the peak I was looking forward to the perhaps funniest part of the run, the downhill run on what was left of the alpine slopes, still covered in thick slushy snow.

That part of my run was pure fun, took a lot of focus, balance and coordination to stay upright at some of the steeper sections, but staying true to good running/sliding style made for a fast and fun section 🙂

Met several Nordic skiers on this section on the route, even friends, all preparing for either the Greenlandic Nationals or the Arctic Circle Race.

Got a few weird looks and exchanged a few friendly words, they were all going uphill after all and on Nordic skies, I am not sure I would have survived that.

From her it was a 5K paved section home.

Mostly it was a 5K  long survival run, my feet were hammered from the off trail part and i had very little energy to do anything than focus on running, cadence  and other things seemed about right, but I could tell on the way home that this run would fall in the TMTS category and now as i am typing this I am confident that I will pay for this over in the coming days.

That said I still think it was worth it and I would be tempted to do  it again 🙂

The spyridons we again an excellent off trail choice. excellent grip on all surfaces and I can now vouch for this mesh feature that take the brunt of the impact from rock cropping and stones/pebbles, It works a treat.

It survived the road section too and very well for a trail shoes, but coming form no shoes or a seeya it is a bit of dull experience on roads.

A parting picture for you all showing a little more of the mixed terrain.

W010

Leave a Reply

