A perfect spring 10K (868K to go):

W007

You Know it has been a perfect run when your hands are as dirty as your feet and you are caked into , snow, dirt and mud from toe to hips ๐Ÿ™‚

But lets, back up a bit… Mother Nature has for some reason decided to bring spring to Greenland a good month earlier than normal.

Since friday we have had temperatures well above 0C and all my wonderful snow has either rained or melted away. Nuuk now look like it would normally do in May and we are only halfway through March. While that is just not OK from a snowboarding point of view. It did mean that I from a running point of view would be able to sneak back into the pair of running shoes that I enjoy running almost as much as totally barefooted. my VFF seeya ๐Ÿ™‚

The sun was out from early morning, but my legs were still quite sore and stiff from yesterdays leg focused gym session. But then again +100 weighted deep squats ( as in butt to heel deep squats), 100 leg curls onย  coreball, the usual 100 weighted calf raises and of course my favourite one legged achilles squats (in lack of a better description).

None the less, the sun and warm weather was too much for me, strapped in warmed up a bit and headed out the door and into the warm spring air.

much to my surprise I seemed to hit both running style and pace with ease, everything just seemed to click and I had to remind myself to keep my pace down and focus on running style. I floated through the first five kilometres, with excellent ground feedback and plenty of underfoot sensory impact from the massive amount of pebbles and gravel exposed by the snow melting away, but my feet seemed to almost mould around it (helped my the very thin rubber soles admittedly, nut still…)

On my home bound leg of the run I decided to take advantage of all the rock being exposed and drifted off onto the rocks, slushy snow and dirt quite a bit, amazing to run real rock without the snow and get a taste for what summer has in store for us ๐Ÿ™‚

Stats after the run was a 5:00 pace and a 200 SPM cadence. Heart rate was too high though, but I really could not help it, I was enjoying the run way too much ๐Ÿ™‚

I am still only in the early beginnings of my full time barefoot running, but style, feel and strength are slowly coming together and the difference from what people like to call a transitional shoe, which I have been running for a good year before ย thisย  and a truly minimalist shoe really is night and day. I ma however confident that this is the right choice for me ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

