An 8K barefoot run in London (892K to go):

W005I really had to do a daytrip to London to get some pressing meetings completed and spend last night walking a lot of the very familiar streets of central London.

An upside to all of this was that i this morning would have time to sneak in an early run and I decided to use the nearby Hyde Park / Kensington Gardens as my primary route. so a quick dash down Oxford street, around the park and back to the hotel.

Bein slightly worried about the glass and if there would be gravel, I decided to start out in my favourite seeyas.

But just a few kilometres into the run I striped off the shoes and allowed my bare feet to get in touch with the ground.

Route was a mix of flagstones, Paved trails/roads (of mixed quality), cobblestones, gravel and a combination of these.

Some were perfect, the flagstones and a lot of the paved stuff was amazingly smooth to run- Some of the gravel sections were a mess though and particular the gravel/cobblestone mix were quite challenging, as were some of the paved sections as it had a very rough surface and I am not yet light enough on my feet to run it.

The run itself was an 8K, 5:24 pace, 200 SPM average run, so all in all very good. 3 things was very clear to me after the run though.

  1. I need to work a lot on my running style and while it may seem odd then running completely barefoot is the easiest way to work with it, as I have instant feedback from the soles on my feet. Even a minimal pair of five fingers like the seeyas robs enough ground feel that I am pushing it too hard, I will need to work much hard on my self discipline.
  2. Cadence is faster barefooted, thus I need to increase my cadence, shorten my stride a bit and focus on posture, when wearing minimalist shoes, much more so than when running truly barefoot.
  3. Running truly barefeet is so addictive, when you hit those perfect strides where you just “float”. It just feels right šŸ™‚

But again, it would have been too good to be true if my style turned out to be perfect this early on and It will be interesting to work out some of these “challenges” along the way

I am now back in Copenhagen and if my legs can manage, I will be doing a short run again tomorrow šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

