A milestone – the barefoot 12K (960K to go):

Friday in Copenhagen and the weather was amazing, big white snowflakes were falling densly, a light wind was blowing and the temperature was around freezing.

Perfect day for a run and time for the biggest challenge in my two week barefoot career – the dreaded 10K test.
It may sound amusing when someone with a couple of marathons of the more interesting kind and an average running lengths of 15K per run says that, but truth is that I am only two weeks down the barefoot path and I want to get it right this time around, no mistakes and no injuries.
I slipped into my five fingers, decided to go with the minimal ones, not the waterproof trail ones (which turned out to be a mistake). Four steps into my run my feets was soaked, the combination of wet snow, lots of road salt and a temperature just around freezing made for a anywhere from 1-10 centimeters of slush, rather than snow. Which in turn made for some seriously cold feet.

Pace, cadence and running style though felt really good from the beginning and I had to keep my self from sliding back into my usual shoed pace, as that would kill my feets and probably prevent me from reaching my 10K goal.
3K and everything still looked great, feelt comfortable and at ease with my running.
Passed the 5K mark with the same feeling and decided to add two bonus kilometres to the route.
The 8K mark came up and I was feeling great and confident.
At the 9K mark things started to get difficult, the last two kilomteres of a mix of packed snow and water puddles was taking its toll on my feet and they started to feel numb.
At the 10K mark I regretted addign the extra 2K, but nothing to do, but to push on towards home. Feet felt numb with lack of ground feel as a result and my running tech falling slightly apart.
At 10,5K I came back onto paved roads again, nearly instantly my feet started to gain ground feel again and I felt OK again, save for some really tired feet.

1 hour and 2 minutes and 12K later I was back and started my stretching rutine.
Feets were very wet and tired, no blisters or other things indicating bad running style though. The average cadence was a very steady 195 steps per minute too. So overall a very nice mixed surface run.
I am however going to stick to the 7-10K distance for a few more weeks before running another 12K. That is the plan anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

