8 flat barefoot kilometres (972K to go):

In Copenhagen again and back in a warmer climate, still below freezing temperature wise though, but not as cold as the weather looks, which is good news.

Copenhagen seemed the perfect place to test my urban barefoot skills, I did strap into a pair fo fivefingers though, as I knew there would be gravel sections on my run.

What Copenhagen lack in hills, it certainly gains in amount of people in the streets, bikes, cars, other runners, strollers, broken glass, cobbled roads, stairs, gravel walking paths and puddles of cold water ūüôā

A perfect acceptable mix of unpredicable ellements and it was interesting to see how it impacted the barefoot running experience.

I ran a 5:10 average 8K, building up from a 5:30 pace on the first kilometre to 4:40 pace on the last 2K to test how increasing the pace would impact running style, heart rate, cadence and all.

Conclusion is that somewhere around a 4:50 pace my running style falls apart and I begin to push off too heavily with my toes and I suspect that continuing at a higher pace would lake result in cramps in the muscles on the front of my shins and lower calfs. 

Overall the run was good though. I did not feel anything to the mid foot tiredness I felt on the first ocuple of runs and my running style seemed to be a bit more dialed in, foot placement relative to center of gravity and angle of foot placement is such a delicate balance, but I am improving rapidly I think.

The eye to foot cordination was a little difficult on a couple of sections, as there was nearly no light, resulting in very wet feet as I ran through a deep puddle of water.

People, bikes, cars and all the other urban obstacles turned out to be quite fun, manged not to scare anyone to much too ūüôā

Heartrate is back to normal and cadence has now stabilised around the 195 step pr. minute average, which is a lot faster than the traditional heel strike running pace and around 15 steps pr. minute faster than when I run in minimal shoes.

Overall a very positive 4th barefoot run ūüôā

 

 

Leave a Reply

