another 7,5K of ice, snow and pebbles (980K to go):

OK, Thursday today and I have just completed another 7,5K of the same Ice, snow and pavement mix in Nuuk and yes there was still a ton of super annoying pebbles all over.

I actually have developed small black and blue marks from them under my toes and forefoot, the KSO’s prevented skin punctures though 🙂

Upside to all of this though is that I discovered running smooth ice while a little tricky is soo much easier when running barefoot. the fact that you run with foot placements just below your center of gravity and do not push off, but lift your feet, takes away that tiny off balance thing that would normally make ice difficult.

heartrate was high today again, but I pushed it harder than monday too, so I would count it as an improvement.

I am approaching my normal training pace again, not quite there yet, but overall ok. I shaved 15 seconds off to an OK’ish 5:05 average.

Cadence increased a touch on this run to a 195 steps per minute average and while it is about the right cadence for me, it really puts my thighs and calves at work. Not to mention my feets, my middle foot is getting stronger with each run, so far around a  1K increase per run in terms of when i start to feel my middle foot getting tired, lets hope it continues this positively

all in all it seems that the year spend transitioning from full on comfy cushioned running shoes to minimalist shoes really is making this bare foot transition easier.

Managed to give at least two couples a good scare on my run again, one of them could have been avoided if I had remembered to warn them though 🙂

I have said it before, but the feel from running barefoot even though it really is hard work right now it is highly addictive addictive too. The sensory feedback from my fees while running is really adding a new dimension to the running experience 🙂

Leave a Reply

