7,5K of Ice, snow and pavement (987,5K to go)

Today’s run took place in Nuuk, Greenland. Temperature still a leisurely -5C or so, but today’s run would be on primarily hard ice and snow, with patches of pavement and all of it covered in fine pebbles (1-5 mm in diameter) in anything from a dense layer to just a few pebbles here and there. In other words, not exactly barefoot friendly and would I later learn quite painful. of much the same reason I climbed in to a pair of well worn Fivefinger KSO’s and decided on a very well known 7,5K route.

The first few hundre meters were still very cold, but having a few mm of vibram rubber between me and the road made all the difference to me and I quickly warmed up.

The stinging pain under the arch of my foot returned at around 2K again, reminding me that I was pushing too hard with my toes and not focusing enough on lifting my feets off the ground. and on the angle of my foot when catching my steps. Forcing myself to focus again made the pain go away and actually made for a very pleasant run.

Only downside today was the pebbles, for the most part it seem my foot were able to swallow most of the pebbles without any pain, but the last K home my feet were too tired and after the shower I noticed to black bruises one on each of my big toes.

I think A pair of slightly more padded fivefingers like the Speed is probably a better fit for this kind of surface

Pulse was way higher than usual even though pace was slower than usual for such a short distance. Cadence was slightly higher than when wearing shoes too, about 190 on today’s run and with a little bigger spread than last time thanks to the steep hills.

Running barefoot still feels like a total different experience and I am hooked like never before 🙂

Just have to work on not scaring the sh*t out of people when passing them. apparently you do not really make any sound at all when running barefoot, so people do not really notice that you are there until you pass by them. I had an unusually high number of surprised pedestrians today, but it is something to be aware of.

Leave a Reply

